Margaret Tait Award and Residency


The Margaret Tait Award was launched in 2009 by Glasgow Film Festival, inspired by the pioneering Orcadian filmmaker Margaret Tait (1918–1999). The award aims to support experimental and innovative artists working within film and moving image, and provide a high profile platform for them to exhibit their work and engage with a wider audience.

Scottish artists or artists based in Scotland who have developed a significant body of work over the past 3–10 years and are at the cusp of a major impact on the sector are eligible for the award.

All the Margaret Tait Award winners’ films are available to venues. For more information please see Glasgow Film’s Margaret Tait Award on Tour page.


Artist Kate Davis announced as winner of the Margaret Tait Award 2016/17

We are pleased to announce that the winner of the 2016/17 Margaret Tait Award is Glasgow-based artist Kate Davis. Davis will receive a £10,000 commission to create a new piece of work, and the opportunity to present this work at Glasgow Film Festival in February 2017. Of the award, Kate Davis said, “Working with the moving image has become an increasingly important part of my practice in recent years and the Margaret Tait Award will be invaluable in enabling me to realise my most ambitious and experimental moving image work to date. Inspired by the ways in which Margaret Tait’s films invite us to contemplate fundamental emotions and everyday activities that are often overlooked, I propose to investigate how the essential, but largely invisible and unpaid, processes we employ to care for others and ourselves can inform both the subject of my film and the way it is made.”

About Kate Davis

Born in New Zealand, Kate Davis lives and works in Glasgow. Her work reconsiders what certain histories could look, sound and feel like. This has often involved responding to the aesthetic and political ambiguities of specific art works and their reception, or re-evaluating historical moments that have been marginalised. Informed by successive waves of feminist art and theory, Davis works across a range of media, including moving image, drawing, printmaking and bookworks.

Davis has presented solo exhibitions at: Dunedin Public Art Gallery, NZ; The Drawing Room, London; Temporary Gallery, Cologne; GoMA, Glasgow; Galerie Kamm, Berlin; Museo de la Ciudad and La Galeria de Comercio, Mexico; CCA, Glasgow (with Faith Wilding); Tate Britain, London; Kunsthalle Basel and Sorcha Dallas, Glasgow amongst others. Recent group exhibitions/ screenings/ awards include: Cinenova Presents Now Showing, LUX Cornwall, St Ives; LUX/ BBC Artists and Archive commission; GENERATION exhibition, Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art; HOUSE WORK CASTLE MILK WOMAN HOUSE, Glasgow Women’s Library; Art Under Attack, Tate Britain; For Each Gesture Another Character, Art Stations Foundation, Poznan, Poland; eva International 2012, Limerick, Ireland; Olinka or Where Movement is Created, Museo Rufino Tamayo, Mexico City. Forthcoming projects include a solo exhibition at Stills, Edinburgh.

The Panel

The 2016 panel consisted of a diverse range of experts and curators in the field of visual arts and cinema, including Kirsten Body (Inverness Museum and Art Gallery), Sophia Hao (Cooper Gallery, Dundee), Paul Pieroni (GoMA, Glasgow), Gayle Meikle (artist/curator), Emma Nicolson (ATLAS Arts, Skye), Laura Simpson (Hospitalfield Arbroath), Stephen Sutcliffe (artist and previous Margaret Tait Award winner), Mark Thomas (Creative Scotland), Luke Collins (LUX Scotland) and Jane Hartshorn (Glasgow Film). 21 prominent Scottish artists were nominated for the award, and five were then shortlisted and asked to submit proposals. The shortlisted artists were Aideen Doran, Hardeep Pandhal, Catherine Street and Stina Wirfelt.


Previous Margaret Tait award-winners:

2015 Margaret Tait Award winner Duncan Marquiss screened the world-premiere of Evolutionary Jerks and Gradualist Creeps, on Monday 22 February at Glasgow Film Festival 2016. The film features interviews with two evolutionary biologists and this dialogue is interwoven with a diversity of footage shot by Marquiss, drawing on patterns of evolution as a cue for image-making processes and editing structures. The premiere of Evolutionary Jerks & Gradualist Creeps was prefaced by Copy Errors; Marquiss’ curated programme of research material and archival films that informed his award-winning work.

2014: Charlotte Prodger, The Stoneymollan Trail

2013: Rachel Maclean, Happy & Glorious

2012: Stephen Sutcliffe, Outwork

2011: Anne-Marie Copestake, And Under That

2010: Torsten Lauschmann, At The Heart of Everything is a Row of Holes

You can read more about Margaret Tait at LUX online. All the Margaret Tait Award winners’ films are now being made available to venues, for more information please visit the Margaret Tait Award on Tour page.



The Margaret Tait Residency 2012 – 2014. The Margaret Tait Residency was setup by Glasgow Film, and supported by Creative Scotland in conjunction with Pier Arts Centre and LUX. It aimed to support and develop the skills of an emerging Scottish-based artist working within film and moving image. It was developed for artists early in their career who would benefit from a focused period of development in a stimulating environment out-with their typical studio base.

Recipients of the Margaret Tait Residency:

2014 Florrie James

2012 Sarah Forrest

  • Subscribe to LUX Scotland Bulletins

  • Follow us on Twitter

  • Recent Posts