2016 Margaret Tait Award Shortlist announced

Posted on April 9th, 2015 by LUX Scotland      


Kathryn Elkin, Rob Kennedy, Duncan Marquiss and Hardeep Pandhal are the artists shortlisted for the 2016 Margaret Tait Award.

Glasgow Film Festival’s Margaret Tait panel met last week to discuss the nominations for the Margaret Tait Award. Twenty-four prominent Scottish artists were nominated for the award which recognises artists who are experimental, innovative and who work within film and moving image. The award is supported by Creative Scotland and LUX.

The recipient of the award will be given a £10,000 prize and the opportunity to present their new commission at Glasgow Film Festival in 2016. The panel, which is made up of a diverse range of experts and curators in the field of visual arts and cinema, spent a day discussing and watching each nominee’s work before deciding on a shortlist of four artists. The shortlisted nominees have now been asked to provide a proposal of the commission they would like to make which the panel will then review in early May.

The winning artist will be announced week beginning Monday 11 May.

All the previous Margaret Tait Award winners’ films are now being made available to venues, for more information please visit the Margaret Tait Award on Tour page.

   , , , ,

  • Subscribe to LUX Scotland Bulletins

  • Follow us on Twitter

  • Recent Posts