Where I Am: A Screening Programme in Three Acts

Part of Where I Am

4 June 2015

Talbot Rice Gallery
View Map

Margaret Tait, Where I Am Is Here, 1964. Courtesy of the artist's estate and LUX.

For the concluding episode of our national touring programme, Talbot Rice will present a single screening event in three acts, featuring selected works from the Where I Am project. Alongside these works, new selections will be presented, spanning artists’ moving image in Scotland from the 1930s to the present day.


Act 1

Introduction from Peter Todd (artist, filmmaker and co-editor of Subjects and Sequences: A Margaret Tait Reader).

Margaret Tait, Where I Am Is Here, 1964. 16mm transferred to digital, 35 min.

Tina Keane, Shadow of a Journey, 1980. 8mm/​16mm transferred to digital, 20 min.

Marvin Gaye Chetwynd, Call of the Wild, 2007. 16mm transferred to digital, 6 min.

Act 2

Reflection on the programme from Mason Leaver-Yap (Director, LUX Scotland).

Charlotte Prodger, Stoneymollan Trail, 2015. HD video, 9 min (extract).

Sera Furneaux, Canvas, 1987. Beta-SP transferred to digital, 12 min.

Act 3

Annabel Nicolson, Frames, 1973. 16mm, 8 min.

Duncan Marquiss, Midgie Noise, 2004. SD video, 2 min.

Rob Kennedy, I don’t know what to call this, 2010. SD video, 2 min (extract).

Sarah Lock, The Weather Outside, 1987. Beta-SP transferred to digital, 2 min.

Katy Dove, Motorhead, 2007. SD video, 4 min.

Part of Where I Am

'Where I Am' was a bespoke national touring project in 2015 exploring the history of artists’ moving image in Scotland.

Learn more